Charlotte County DUI Lawyer
DUI Defense Attorney Takes on Florida DUI Cases
More and more public awareness is occurring regarding driving under the influence (DUI). However, as long as people socialize, have parties or believe that one or two drinks will take the edge off a rough day, there will be people that have had a drink and decide to drive and who can be very close to the legal limit. Because one has had a drink and then drives does not mean that person is automatically driving illegally.
Tauna R. Bogle's law office has been serving citizens of Charlotte County, South Sarasota County and Arcadia for some years. As a criminal defense attorney and a former state prosecutor, she has the experience to help you through your DUI offense.
Call our Charlotte County DUI attorney today to start discussing your defense.
Factors that Could Affect Your Charges
There are many factors involved in a DUI and the laws can become very complex and hard to understand on what is right and what is wrong. However, any DUI charge isn’t something to take lightly. Law enforcement officers have the right to pull you over if they suspect you have been driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. It is illegal under Florida state law to drive a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level that exceeds the 0.08% legal limit. Anyone that is found driving with a BAC level over 0.08% in Florida will be arrested and charged with DUI, no questions asked.
When a DUI charge or arrest does occur, one’s life can be turned upside down. This is a serious matter which can affect your work, family and the rest of your life, depending on the severity of the charges. Your driver’s license can be suspended or taken away and if you drive as part of your work that can adversely affect your income and possibly your job.
- Penalties for a first DUI in Florida:
- Fine of up to $1,000
- Probation for up to a year
- Up to 6 months in jail
- 6-month license suspension
- Drunk driving school
- Substance abuse program
- Penalties for a Second DUI in Florida:
- Fine of up to $4,000
- 10 days to 9 months for normal DUI. Other factors can raise it up to 5 years such as for child endangerment or if there were injuries
- At least 5 years driver's license suspension
- Penalties for a Third DUI in Florida:
- Fine of up to $5,000
- Third degree felony conviction
- Up to 12 months in jail
Defending DUI Charges in Charlotte County
Even though you may have taken a breath test before being arrested for DUI, this does not mean that you are guilty and does not mean that you should be convicted. You have legal rights and you can still possibly avoid a DUI conviction and also keep your driver's license. To safeguard your rights it is vital that you seek an experienced and knowledgeable Charlotte County DUI defense attorney immediately who can go over your case and discuss your best options.
Tauna can aggressively represent you on:
- Felony DUI charges
- Under 21 DUI
- Commercial DUI
- DUI with injury and more
Recently arrested for DUI? Contact Charlotte County DUI defense lawyer, Tauna R. Bogle, P.A. for a free initial consultation.